Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > News > Six trophies in four years for Berkshire

Six trophies in four years for Berkshire

Berkshire Cricket Club captained by OB James Morris (G 98-03)
Berkshire Cricket Club captained by OB James Morris (G 98-03)
2 Oct 2019

It has been another successful season for Berkshire County Cricket Club where OBs, James Morris (G 98-03), who is also Captain, Ollie Birts (D 10-15), Richard Morris (G 00-05) and Andy Rishton (F 08-13), helped the team secure the Minor Counties Championship title for the fourth successive season. They had to endure a nail-biting finish in their one-wicket victory over Staffordshire on the final day of the season which was the closest they had come to losing a game in five years. Richard was named man of the match for his first-innings knock of 89.
The Championship win follows their record-equalling fifth victory in the Minor Counties Trophy, where they beat Cumberland by one run in a thrilling final. Berkshire’s celebrated their sixth trophy in four seasons and became the first side to successfully defend a total below 200 since the Trophy began in 1986.
Following the final Championship match against Staffordshire, skipper James told the Berkshire County Cricket website: “The Championship is the one we want to win every year as it is the most important one which we prioritise above everything else because it is the one you spend most time playing. We are going to enjoy this win because to be able to do the double again is really special when you haven't played as well as you could have done.”

Most read

The Old Bradfieldian Football Team
From Bradfield to Istanbul: a Stay at Home Fundraiser

The OB footballers are running, walking and cycling to Istanbul to raise money for lung cancer research and support. More...

Lauren in action for the Southern Vipers
Lauren stars for Southern Vipers

Recent leaver Lauren Bell (J 17-19) put in a starring performance for Kia Super League side Southern Vipers on Finals Da… More...

Throwback Thursday - 2003 ISFA Cup Final

A throwback to Bradfield's first ISFA Cup final. More...

Bradfield College 1st XI, 1869
A history of Bradfieldian Football & the Arthur Dunn Cup

Ahead of the semi-final of the Arthur Dunn Cup, historian of amateur football David Bauckham has written about the histo… More...

OB London Lunch Cancelled

The Old Bradfieldian London Lunch of the 22nd May has been cancelled More...

A VE Day Message from the Headmaster

A VE message and video from the Headmaster More...

OB Bertie Gregory features on BBC Radio 4 Front Row Programme

Bertie Gregory (G 6-11) has recently been interviewed for the BBC Radio 4 Front Row Programme about his time as one of D… More...

Have your say

This website is powered by