Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > News > Bradfieldian next President of MCC

Bradfieldian next President of MCC

Mark Nicholas (G 71-76)
4 May 2023
Winners of the Cricketer Cup in 1996 and 1997
Winners of the Cricketer Cup in 1996 and 1997

We are thrilled to hear that Bradfieldian Mark Nicholas (G 71-76) who recently spoke at the Bradfield Waifs Cricketer Cup Dinner celebrating the Waifs win in 2022 will be the next President of MCC (Marylebone Cricket Club). As a keen cricketer himself he was with the team of Bradfield Waifs who won the Cricketer Cup in 1996 and 1997 and they were photographed above at the recent dinner.

The announcement on Weds 3 May 2023 reads: 

Mark Nicholas has been named as the next President of MCC.

He will serve a 12-month term as President, taking up the post on 1 October 2023. His appointment was announced by the current President, Stephen Fry, at the Club's Annual General Meeting held earlier today.

The Times notes "Each president serves a term of one year and then nominates their successor. Nicholas’s professional career spanned two decades, during which he scored more than 25,000 runs and captained Hampshire to four domestic trophies. After retiring from cricket, Nicholas moved into the media, first as a presenter and commentator with Sky Sports, then as the anchor of Channel 4’s Test-match coverage."

Most read

Have your say

This website is powered by